More than 30 years ago, in 1988, the General Secretariat of the Alps-Adriatic Working Community – which became the Alps-Adriatic-Alliance (AAA) in 2013 – was installed at the Regional Government of Carinthia in Klagenfurt.
Now the city becomes a true “Alps-Adriatic Cooperation Hub” because the Alpe-Adriatic Rectors´ Conference (AARC) which was founded in 1979 will open a Permanent Secretariat at Klagenfurt´s Alpen-Adria-Universität. The AARC consists of 48 universities and colleges from all over Central Europe and focuses on deepening academic cooperation and exchange. It is currently presided by the University of Rijeka.
Another network which has opened its joint secretariat at the Economic Chamber of Carinthia is “NAAN” the “New Alpe Adria Network of Chambers” which consists of members from Carinthia, Friuli Venezia Giulia, Istria, Primorje-gorski kotar County, Slovenia, Styria and Veneto. NAAN´s focus will be on furthering the area´s economic integration through an improved infrastructure, digitalization and joint business development- as well as training measures.